Posted by: cruisec0ntr0l | January 24, 2012

I Had Fun at the TIMEX RUN

Last Sunday’s TIMEX RUN: Time is Running was fun.

Not because Piolo ran a 10k personal best…

Not because I ran with Piolo…(well, not actually because i just did the 5k).

Not because I was given a complimentary race kit…

Not because I was fortunate enough to be asked to join friends at the VIP tent/area (although I didn’t have my pic taken with the “man of the hour”)…

Not because I was invited and won a TIMEX Ironman watch at the event launch…

Not because Runrio, Inc. organized this race…

Not because I know Rio personally…

Not because I’m friends with people working for Runrio…

I could still give more reasons but I guess it wouldn’t matter much, or would it?

“I had fun because I simply want to have fun. That’s what it’s supposed to be right? Isn’t it fun running with friends and catching up with each other over breakfast?” Being treated well by organizers and sponsors is considered a bonus and I will forever be thankful for it.

When I write about an event/product or post their details, it doesn’t mean that I am paid to do so. It is only when organizers politely ask for our help to promote their events. It’s just customary to write good things for someone who treats you right, who treats you with respect…And in this case, thanks to TIMEX Phils. and Runrio, Inc. for always treating us nicely.

I don’t know if it’s just me but, i think and feel that  it’s just how it is or is supposed to be. Being given a “token” for it I guess is ok, just as long as they don’t request you directly to write good or favorable things about them when everyone knows they are not.

I seldom do race nor product reviews…I can post or write about it, but review?Hmmm…might as well leave it up to the more rightful and authoritative people.

I and some friends started this blog years ago to create a journal of our running activities. We even make our blogs comments section as a “chat room” hehehe…I didn’t do this to be famous nor to get or receive what they call “perks”…well, getting some is purely incidental and never asked for and i’m very thankful for them. “Kung wala naman, eh thank you pa rin”.

Personally, I’m not comfortable being called a “Runner-Blogger” because I feel I’m not worthy, because “I’m just an ordinary runner, who happens to have an ordinary blog…”

Leave a Reply

Categories

